Different states have different divorce and asset distribution laws. In the case of Connecticut, a few of its laws are a bit different than other states.
Here are some of the things you should know about divorce in Connecticut.
Connecticut is not a 50-50 state
A 50-50 state regarding divorce means that the assets are divided equally between you and your ex-spouse. Instead, Connecticut is an equitable distribution state. This means that the court determines what is equitable. This is rarely even.
Connecticut is not a community property state
It is an all-property state. Again the term equitable distribution is key. The courts do not recognize any property as separate property. They consider all property marital property regardless of how, when, or who acquires it. Several factors separate assets.
These factors often include:
- Each spouse’s income
- The presence of children
- Each spouse’s potential to earn income
- Each spouse’s contributions to the marriage
- The length of the marriage
Although there are other considerations, including custody, these are the ones that often come up.
Connecticut does have a waiting period
In Connecticut, divorcing couples must wait 90 days after filing before the courts grant a divorce. The court can waive the 90-day waiting period under certain circumstances. These are:
- If attendance in court is not a requirement
- If you and your spouse agree on all matters
- If your spouse does not show up at a hearing
- If your spouse does not respond to the initial filing
You must keep an eye on all dates when filing for divorce in Connecticut.
Connecticut’s divorce laws intend to treat both parties equally according to their contributions to the marriage.